Happy 220th Birthday, Rossini!

Posted by Elizabeth Devereux

I loved happening upon this Google Doodle YouTube video this morning:

As I’ve blogged about before, I love the whimsy of the Google Doodles.  Discovering the accompanying YouTube video on my search for some Barber of Seville humor this morning was an added bonus to the doodle.  I didn’t even know that it was Rossini’s birthday today!

The only thing I would change in this fortuitous and fun chain of events is the music accompanying the Rossini Google Doodle video–yes, it is fun music, but why not choose one of Rossini’s own upbeat and ridiculous compositions?!

I’m confident this scene from Rossini’s Barber of Seville would’ve been silly and energetic enough to accompany leaping frogs!

Gioachino Antonio Rossini even looked like a jolly (and well-fed) fellow!

As the most popular opera composer to date when he was composing in the early 1800s, he must’ve had a lot to be jolly about.  I’m glad we too get to enjoy the jolliness today through his music.

Leave a Reply

